Member Login Menu

T&DI Announces Dallas Little as the Winner of Francis C. Turner Award

Thursday, January 21, 2016

featured image
Dallas Little

Dallas N. Little, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, Regents Professor, E.B. Snead Chair Professor of Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, was announced as the winner of Francis C. Turner Award.Professor Little will receive the award at ASCE International Conference on Transportation & Development (ICTD 2016) , scheduled to be held in Houston from June 26-29, 2016. Professor Little will also deliver the Francis C. Turner lecture at the conference. The title of his lecture will be Two Practical Applications of Chemo-Mechanics to Extend the Life of Our Asphalt Pavement Infrastructure. This award was established by T&DI of ASCE by the solicitation of gifts from the many friends and admirers of Francis C. Turner, Hon.M.ASCE, former Chief Engineer of the Bureau of Public Roads, and retired Federal Highway Administrator. It was instituted by the Board of Direction in October 1988.

Professor Little is Regents Professor and E.B. Snead Chair Professor in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University. He is Senior Research Fellow for the Texas A&M Transportation Institute and a Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Professor Little has published extensively in refereed journals, has presented over 450 invited lectures, and serves as honorary professor or adjunct professor at three international universities. He recently served as principle investigator for a major component of the $30 million Asphalt Research Consortium project. He has served as consultant on a number of key national and international projects including the Denver Airport design and construction; advancement in chemical soil stabilization technology in Australia and New Zealand; multi-billion dollar design-build highway projects in Texas; the new Doha, Qatar, Airport; the planned Bahrain to Qatar Causeway; and the planned new Mexico City Airport. He has been honored by ASCE in 2016 with both the Francis C. Turner and Monismith Lecture Awards.